Today I’ll Write a Poem or Song

Yes, I’m still here. While I can, I’ll share a throwback Thursday poem/song. Enjoy.

To you, my dear
I would give you the world
Serve it on a silver platter and a drink with the swirl
The moon and the sun, if I could add them too
But today I’ll write a poem or song.

I know it’s rough
Right now we know
The money’s tight, sleep ain’t right, we’re feelin’ low
But just stay right here, ‘cause the skies they’ll clear
So today I’ll write a poem or song.

Hear me out with my poem or song
The sunlight’s coming out here before long
Today it’s a word, tomorrow brings the songbird
You’re the reason for my poem or song.

You’re beautiful
Even if you’re stressed
Far-flung, stretched thin, or just plain depressed
We’ll make it someday, just you and me
But today I’ll write a poem or song.

It’s coming soon
I promise you that
We’ll have it all and bring along our lovely cat
Our days full of dreams, and plenty of ice cream
But today I’ll write a poem or song.

Hear me out with my poem or song
The sunlight’s coming out here before long
Today it’s a word, tomorrow brings the songbird
You’re the reason for my poem or song.

Thoughts?

