Time

Getting back into the swing of things. Some more personal poems on the way.
—-

It comes and it goes
Without as much as hello
The minutes, the hours, the years
The more you seek to consider its pace
The more of it you’ll lose to your fears.

Coming and going
The days of our youth
The world masked by family and friend
Uncaring of how the master moves forth
As the world it goes on without end.

Dancing in step
To the songs of the day
For I have not a care in this life
Protected as I am by my caretakers, two
From unknown monsters and beings of strife.

Sliding along
As the world starts to break
Childhood grows small far behind.
The ceaseless play has ended at last
For its time to make use of that mind.

Dragging of feet
As everything’s changed
This body it warps with new age
I do miss my childlike body of yore
But I can not step back from this stage.

Wandering now
The search for meaning
The old world of joys is all gone
The ground is unstable as I seek something out
But it seems there’s no sign of the dawn.

Wondering now
How this all came to be
How could everything end up like this?
The timeless embraces of days long past
And the mother and father I miss.

Time, it seems
Is a master to all
And a master who knows not how to cease
For no matter how hard I beg and I plead
There is no way I can find its release.

Standing at last
As the train rolls on
Destination and time are unclear
But I can not sit by as the world passes by
It’s time to let go of this fear.

Seeing the world
All illusions aside
For I am not a child anymore
And seeking out purpose guided by one’s heart
Leads to one to whom I’ll adore.

Striding in step
With this partner in life
Now the world can be handled in time.
But to not make a haven that is safe for a child
Would be a parent’s most harsh and cruel crime.

Building at last
A sphere all my own
And I wonder with all of my heart
How my parents may see their child, now raised
As my life as adult it does start.

Learning forever
That time will not cease
It will go on for as long as it can.
One can not waste time watching it go
In that time a boy’s reborn a man.

2 comments on “Time

  1. Good subject matter, and I really like the rhythm.

    Like

Thoughts?

